The End of Sitting

The End of Sitting is an installation at the crossroads of visual art, architecture, philosophy and empirical science. In our society almost the entirety of our surroundings have been designed for sitting, while evidence from medical research suggests that too much sitting has adverse health effects. RAAAF [Rietveld Architecture-Art Affordances] and visual artist Barbara Visser have developed a concept wherein the chair and desk are no longer unquestionable starting points. Instead, the installation’s various affordances solicit visitors to explore different standing positions in an experimental work landscape. The End of Sitting marks the beginning of an experimental trial phase, exploring the possibilities of radical change for the working environment. This project is a spatial follow-up of the recently released mute animation 'Sitting Kills' by RAAAF | Barbara Visser, developed for the Chief Government Architect of the Netherlands.


The End of Sitting is a collaboration with Looiersgracht 60 (Soraya Notoadikusumo and Nadine Snijders), a new space for art and science in Amsterdam.


External information:

 >>> The End of Sitting Cut-out bij de Chicago Architecture Biennial (PDF)





Clients: RAAAF | Looiersgracht 60

Client vision Sitting Kills: Atelier Rijksbouwmeester

Vision: RAAAF | Barbara Visser 
Ontwerp installatie: RAAAF
Team: Ronald Rietveld, Erik Rietveld, Arna Mackic

Execution: Landstra & de Vries ondersteund door Schaart Adventures

Photography: Jan Kempenaers (color), Frederica Rijkenberg (black and white)

Animation: Olivier Campagne, ArtefactoryLab

Location: Looiersgracht 60, Amsterdam

Status: Gerealiseerd, 2014


Made posible by: Mondriaan Fonds, Stichting DOEN, Amsterdams Fonds voor de Kunst, Looiersgracht 60, Nederlandse Organisatie voor Wetenschappelijk Onderzoek (NWO)


Special thanks to: Clemens Karlhuber, Bastiaan Bervoets, Elke van Waalwijk van Doorn, David Habets, Mees van Rijckevorsel, Marius Gottlieb, Janno Martens, Team uitvoering: Bouwko Landstra, Alko de Vries, Basile Mareé, Boris de Beijer, Chris Bakker, Dino Ruisen, Ellik Bargai, Frits Ham, Hans Jansen, Jasper van Heyningen, Jolanda Lanslots, Kier Spronk, Koen van Oort, Koos Schaart, Lika Kortmann, Lucas van Santvoort, Luuc Sonke, Mark Jooren, Patrick Mulder, Syb Sybesma, Tim Mathijsen en Tomm Velthuis